Sunday, February 14, 2010

CIM/CWRU Wind Ensembles

University Circle Wind Ensemble
Mueller: Concerto for Violin, Piano, and Wind Ensemble (Premiere)
Hokoyama: Color of August
Bach (arr. Hunsberger): Tocata and Fugue in D Minor.

CWRU Symphonic Winds
Farmer: Beyond the Medow Green
Tucker: Gabrieli's Trumpet
Hokoyama: Spirtual Planets

Cleveland Youth Wind Symphony I
Hokoyama: Fanfare
Sparke: The Four Noble Truths
Kabalevsky: Overture to Colas Bregunon
Hanssen: Baldres March
Bourgeois: Celebration

Today Severance Hall played host to three wind ensembles featuring some incredible young talent. Several of the pieces seemed particularly cenematic -- Celebration, Fanfare, and Spiritual Planets to be specific, and were quite enjoyable to listen to. Likewise, Gabrieli's Trumpet and the concerto for violin, piano, and wind ensemble were fun to listen to.


No comments:

Post a Comment