Saturday, March 14, 2015

Cleveland Orchestra: Beethoven's Seventh Symphony

Francescone: Cobalt, Scarlet: Two colors of dawn
Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 2 in A major (in one movement) (Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano)
Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92
Fabio Luisi, Conductor

As a programming note, starting Thursday Rachel and I will be in Paris (or as Hilton refers to it "Paris, Paris, France") to celebrate our fourth anniversary of dating. If anyone has any suggestions for "off the beaten path" sites to see, things to do, or even people to meet -- please send me an email at L at (Also, if you happen to know a cheap way to upgrade our transatlantic flights on United to BusinessFirst...that would also be greatly appreciated)

I have to admit that I was less than excited about the modern piece that opened the program -- Francescone's Cobalt Scarlet -- especially when given the rousing "not as bad as it could have been" from someone who heard Thursday's performance of the piece. But while the slow passages started as interesting and ephemeral (despite some of the nuance being lost in the noise of a shuffling and rustling audience that was still getting settled as the first notes were played) and became more tiresome and lumbering, the fast passages were fascinating and as exciting as a cinematic chase.

Liszt's Piano Concerto as a single movement was lyrical and mournful in general -- full of technique but not really engaging my ear, though passages with a solo cello were heavenly -- I think I could have listened to just that portion of the piece for hours on end, and I had a similar reaction to the fluttering flute later in the piece


No comments:

Post a Comment