Saturday, November 23, 2013

Cleveland Classical Guitar Society: Carlos Perez

(Spanish and Latin American Music of the Romantic Era)
Jimenez Manjon: Dos Maxurkas
Jimenez Manjon: Arie Vasco
Pujol: Cubana
Pujol: Schottish Madrileno
Damas: Fandango Variado
Barros: Preludo opus 5
Barros: Maxixa
Sagreras: Estilo Criollo
Sagreras: La Ideal (Romanza sin palabras)
Sagreras: La Guella
Nazareth: Mariazinha sentada na pedra (tr. Perez)
Nazareth: Eponina (Valsa) (tr. Perez)
Nazareth: Vem ca branquinha (tr. Perez)
Carlos Perez, guitar
At the Plymouth Church UCC, Shaker Heights

On a blustery winter evening Rachel and I returned to the Plymouth Church, this weekend for the Cleveland Classical Guitar Society's presentation of Carlos Perez playing Spanish and Latin American Music of the Romantic Era. While the weather outside wasn't quite frightful, the music inside was quite delightful*

The first half of the program was given over to composers from Spain -- though Antonio Jimenez Manjon emigrated to South America early in his life -- his Dos Maxurkas was a warm and inviting beginning to the concert with a tranquil Una Flor and the slightly more lively and lyrical Lirica.

Pujol's Cubana had a more casual and "Cuban" flavor -- as may be implied by the title -- the Schottish Madrileno that Rachel and I had imputed as "Scottish" didn't really harken Scottish imagery. While rounding out the first half of the program, Tomas Damas's Fandango variado  featured interesting sounds including a using the body of the guitar for a drum beat.

The second half of the program moved Southwest to Latin America where the mood was generally lighter and the tempo seemingly faster; Augistin Barrios's Preludio opus 5 bringing a faster tempo and thae same composer's Maxixa bringing more festive color into the music. Julio Sagrearass's Estilo Criollo was the opposite with a deep and introspective feeling.

The program concluded with works by Ernesto Nazareth transcribed by guitar by Carlos Perez, where the bubbly Mariazinha sentada na pedra gave way to the more candle-lit-dinner romantic but sad Eponina (Valsa) [I'm not sure what it was about this piece, but I seemed spontaneously on the edge of tears], and finally a rousing Vem ca branquinha to end the warm music and return us to the reality of winter outside of the hall.

Cleveland Classical Guitar Society will be presenting a special event in conjunction with MOCA on Thursday, December 12th.


*(sorry, I really couldn't resist the first opportunity of the season to use that pun)

No comments:

Post a Comment