Monday, May 14, 2012

Susan Britton (violin) and Olga Gorelik (piano) Recital

Faure: Clare de lune (1887)
Beethoven: Sonata no. 1 in D major, Op. 12 (1796)
Grieg: Allegretto tranquillo from Sonata No. 2 in G major, Op. 13 (1867)
Ysaye: Sonata no. 3 in D minor - Ballade, Op. 27 (1923)
de Falla: Suite populaire espagnole (1914)
Debussy: Beau soir (ca. 1885)
Susan Britton, violin; Olga Gorelik, piano.
At the Herr Chapel, Plymouth Church, Shaker Heights.

It seems I picked up a cold as an unexpected birthday gift but despite feeling a bit under the weather I wasn't about to miss tonight's  recital featuring violinist Susan Britton and pianist Olga Gorelik.

And I wasn't disappointed. This evening's recital featured a variety of music and moods spanning 150 years and was full of soulful playing on the part of both musicians. The result was delightfully blended and very passionate.


No comments:

Post a Comment